Click!

Going through Instagram is a really fun and interesting pass time. The mixture of hate, love, jealousy, judgment, and self-pity is pretty much the highlight of my day. It is like having a window into people’s lives. You get to watch them and keep up with them and those they tag from the comfort of your warm sofa. Social media has made me quite the multitasker.

I will not lie, I judge others quite harshly on Instagram but only because I subject myself to the same. Here is the process I go through before posting a photo. First I have to take the 100 photos of course, go through them and choose the best 50. Then ask a friend for their opinion to reduce the number to 25 photos. Now I know I’m fucked if I have to make this decision alone because I always get to those ten best photos that look similar but somehow different…you know! You scroll between them debating on which one looks better. And when people look at you they think you’re anti-social because you’re always on your phone little do they know you’re busy fighting with yourself about what photo looks best and deserves to grace your social media walls for the day. I seriously wish I was busy checking my emails or updating my LinkedIn page.

Kudos n’ eff those photogenic people who always take awesome first photos. You take a selfie with them and it seems like you were almost having a seizure.  So you subject them to your normal process of taking 100 photos until you look good. Anyway I then eventually get that photo that even I agree is worthy to share with the world. I post it because I love it, this is for me and it does not matter what anyone else thinks. Or so I think until I get that IG notification letting me I have one like. Finally! Validation!! And so I wait to see how good my photo does, by that I mean how many likes I get, because it is all about my photo and has nothing to do with me as an individual obviously. When it doesn’t perform so well and I instantly know I should have posted the other one.

I do have those good days when I take a few, twenty, snaps n’ they all turn out great. Because I’m not a narcissist I know I can’t possibly post all of them so I save the rest for a future #WCW, #TBT, or #FBF and even WhatsApp profiles.  For some reason my phone is very slow and I swear I do not have any unnecessary apps and I have deleted like every game…it does not matter anyway social media is all the fun I need.

Self criticism is self growth. I think it’s very healthy it’s better to do it to yourself than be a victim of it from others right! “To truly laugh, you must be able to take your pain and play with it” Charlie Chaplin. When it comes to social media I go with him on it. Whether you are the #Selfie taker, #GlobeTrotter, #Foodie, #Snapper, it is all about sharing and cherishing those moments.

by Khabuqwi

Leave a Reply

